Canadian woman becomes one of 2018 Nobel Laureates

Canadian woman becomes one of 2018 Nobel Laureates


Dec. 13, 2018

Global Korean Post


On December 10, the Nobel Prize award ceremony took place at the Stockholm Concert Hall, Sweden.


At the ceremony, the Nobel Prize in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature and the Prize in Economic Sciences are awarded to the Nobel Laureates.  But the 2018 Nobel Prize in Literature has been postponed.


The Nobel Prize in Physics 2018 was awarded to Arthur Ashkin, Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland.

Donna Strickland (captured image from the Nobel Prize video by Global Korean Post)

Donna Strickland said at the Nobel Banquet, “It is my honour to represent the Nobel Prize in Physics 2018 and speak on behalf of Arthur Ashkin and Gérard Mourou, my esteemed colleagues with whom I share the prize.”

She continued, “Cyndi Lauper had a big hit: Girls Just Want to Have Fun. But they wanted to wait until the working day is done. As for me, I want to have fun while I’m working. Now not everyone thinks physics is fun, but I do. I think experimental physics is especially fun, because not only do you get to solve puzzles about the universe or on Earth, there are really cool toys in the lab. In my case, I get to play with high intensity lasers, that can do magical things like take one color of laser light and turn it into a rainbow of colors. Just one of the amazing things we get to see in our laser labs…”


The Nobel Prize in Physics 2018 was awarded for groundbreaking inventions in the field of laser physics with one half to Arthur Ashkin for the optical tweezers and their application to biological systems, the other half jointly to Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland for their method of generating high-intensity, ultra-short optical pulses.”


The Nobel Prize amount for 2018 was set at Swedish kronor (SEK) 9.0 million (CAD$1,326797.63) per full Nobel Prize.


At this ceremony, 12 new laureates were awarded for achievement as follow:

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2018 :

  • Frances H. Arnold
  • George P. Smith
  • Sir Gregory P. Winter

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2018 :

  • Arthur Ashkin
  • Gérard Mourou
  • Donna Strickland

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2018:

  • James P. Allison
  • Tasuku Honjo

The Nobel Peace Prize 2018 :

  • Denis Mukwege
  • Nadia Murad

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2018 :

  • William D. Nordhaus
  • Paul M. Romer

By Global Korean Post

ⓒGlobal Korean Post

Go to Home 홈으로 이동-->