Leading digital nations become Digital 9


Leading digital nations become Digital 9


Nov. 27, 2018

Global Korean Post


Good government in the 21st century requires that governments offer their citizens quality digital services.


Earlier today at the Digital 9 Summit in Israel, Canada, along with other leading digital nations, welcomed Mexico and Portugal into this group that is dedicated to harnessing digital technology for the benefit of people (formerly D7).



The Digital 9 is comprised of Estonia, Israel, South Korea, New Zealand, the UK, Canada, Uruguay, Mexico and Portugal.


The D9 provides a forum for participants to exchange information and best practices, collaborate on common goals and identify opportunities to use digital technology to create more effective and responsive digital governments.


Canada signed the Digital 7 Charter on February 22nd during the D5 Ministerial Summit in Wellington, New Zealand.


This year’s summit focused on the importance of up-and-coming technologies, among them artificial intelligence (AI), and how they can be ethically employed to advance digital governments. Canada and the other D9 member nations agreed on a set of guiding principles to ensure a common approach to the responsible implementation and use of AI.


Members of the D9 understand the value of AI in delivering improved digital services to their citizens. For its part, the Government of Canada is committed to the responsible use of AI to help provide programs and services that more fully respond to the needs of society.


The D9 Summit builds on the shared know-how of member countries, and will help inform critical discussions in other digital fora, including the G7 Multistakeholder Conference on Artificial Intelligence in Montréal, Canada, on December 6, 2018.

Go to Home 홈으로 이동-->